ESA Research Grants

Results of 2018 ESA Research Grant Applications

The ESA Research Committee received 70 Research Grant applications for the various categories: Project Grants, the Research Support Grants, the Young Investigator Start-Up Grants and the Coordination Grant.

These applications underwent the review process, involving a triage round, a first round of scoring by two members of the Research Committee and, for the top-scored applications, a second round of evaluation by two members of the RC and external expert.

The Research Committee finally discussed the allocation of Grants in the different categories during a meeting held on 23rd of November 2017 in Brussels. 

Following this process, the Research Committee has selected the following applications which were successful:

 Projects Grants winners (60,000€)

  1. James FREEMAN (Ireland),-  “ Can perioperative anaesthetic-analgesic techniques during cancer surgery influence cancer outcome? Next steps in defining its biological plausibility in vivo 

  2. Nandor MARCZIN (United Kingdom) - “Inflammatory and metabolic phenotypes of endothelial injury in patients developing postoperative pulmonary complications

Research Support Grants winners (15,000€)

  1. Michelle CHEW (Sweden), “Myocardial Injury in Noncardiac Surgery in Sweden (MINSS)”

  2. Jeroen HERMANIDES (Netherlands), “Neurotoxic changes in cerebral glucose metabolism during anesthesia and major surgery; is the polyol pathway activated” 

 Young Investigator Start-Up Grants (22,500€)

  1. Delphine VAN HECKE (Belgium), “Interest of Neuromonitoring in early detection of perioperative covert stroke in high-risk patients during noncardiac surgery”

  2. Christoph BEHEM (Germany), “The influence of volume administration vs. vasopressor use on spinal microcirculatory blood flow andoxygenation in an experimental model of spinal ischemia”

Coordination Grant (5.000€)

  1.  Louis PUYBASSET (France) “COMASCOREVAL : Prognostic value of comaScore, an early diffusion MRI score, predicting 1-year outcome”

ESA Research Committee would like to thank all applicants for their interest and the work they have invested into this scientific competition. We also hope that those who were not successful this time will be motivated to contribute in the future. It also became obvious from our review work that many of the applications will also have high chances to be funded from alternative resources. In this regard we wish all applicants great success and ongoing enthusiasm for research.

The ESA Research Grants will be formally awarded to the winners during the Euroanaesthesia 2018 Congress in Copenhagen, Denmark.