Link to publication

Year of Selection & Year of Publication: 2013 & 2017


Study selected by ESA Research Committee: February 2013

Study protocol v1.3: 16 July 2014

Call for Centres: 01 June 2013 to 28 February 2014

Study CRF v1.4: 28 March 2014

Study eCRF v1.1: 28 March 2014

Recruitment of patients: April 2014 – December 2014

Data Cleaning: November 2014 to March 2016

Data analysis: April-May 2016

Manuscript writing: June-July 2016

Paper Submission: August 2016

Paper Publication: End 2016


The aims of the APRICOT study are:

  • To establish the incidence of severe critical events in children undergoing anaesthesia in Europe.
  • To describe the differences in paediatric anaesthesia practise throughout Europe.
  • To study the potential impact of this variability on the occurrence of severe critical events (e.g.: laryngospasm, bronchospasm, aspiration, anaphylaxis, cardiovascular instability, neurological damage and cardiac arrest…).


List of Chief investigator and Steering Committee members

(Chief Investigator)
Geneva University Children’s Hospital
Department APSI
Rue Willy Donzé, 6
CH-1205, Geneva, Switzerland
T: +41 22 3827 504
E: walid.habre@hcuge.chesa.apricot@gmail.com
Karin BECKE Cnopf’sche Kinderklinik/Klinik Hallerwiese
Abteilung für Anästhesie und Intensivmedizin
St. Johannis-Mühlgasse, 19
DE-90419 Nürnberg, Germany
T: +49 911 3340 4910
E: Karin.Becke@diakonieneuendettelsau.de
Krisztina BODA
(Study Statistician)
University of Szeged
Department of Medical Physics and Informatics
Korányi fasor, 9
HU-6726 Szeged, Hungary
T: +36 30 9036811
E: boda.krisztina@med.u-szeged.hu
Nicola DISMA Instituto Giannina Gaslini
Department of Pediatric Anesthesia
Via G Gaslini, 5
IT-6100 Genoa, Italy
T: +39 3382758043
E: nicoladisma@ospedale-gaslini.ge.it, nicoladisma@tin.it
Tom HANSEN Odense University Hospital
Department of Anaesthesia and Intensive Care
Sdr. Boulevard 29
DK-5000 Odense, Denmark
T: +45 30236945
E: tomghansen@dadlnet.dk
Martin JÖHR
Anästhesie Kinderspital
Institut für Anästhesie, Chir. Intensivmedizin, Rettungsmedizin und Schmerztherapie (IFAIRS)
Luzerner Kantonsspital
CH-60004 Luzern 16, Switzerland
T: +41 41 205 4908
E: joerhmartin@bluewin.ch
(co-Chief Investigator)
Cliniques Universitaires St Luc
Department Anaesthesiology
Avenue Hippocrate, 10-1821
BE-1200 Brussels, Belgium
T: + 32 2 764 1821
E: francis.veyckemans@uclouvain.be
Neil MORTON Royal Hospital For Sick Children
Department of Anaesthesia
Glasgow, G3 8SJ, United Kingdom
T: +44 7 834 532 021
E: neilmorton@mac.com
Ehrenfried SCHINDLER Asklepios Klinik Sankt Augustin GmbH
Department of Paediatric Anaesthesia
Arnold-Janssen-Straße 29
DE-53757 Sankt Augustin, Germany
T: +49 2241 249 641
E: e.schindler@asklepios.com
Elly VERMEULEN Maastricht University Medical Center MUMC
Department of Anaesthesiology
P. De Byelaan 25
NL-6202 AZ Maastricht, The Netherlands
T: +31 433876543
E: p.m.vermeulen@skynet.be
Marzena ZIELINSKA Clinical University Hospital
Department of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care
Borowska 213
PL-50-556 Wroclaw, Poland
T: +48 6 041 728 63
E: marzena.zielinska@gmail.com



The study is sponsored by a grant of the European Society of Anaesthesiology Clinical Trial Network (ESA CTN).

Contact email for more info => research@esahq.org

Would you like to get a quick overview of the study?

Download the study flier to discover the Medical Problem, the study Objectives, the study Parameters and Design as well as the Inclusion & Exclusion Criteria and the process to get involved.

Study Flier: English | French | Italian | Czech | Ukrainian