Scientific Subcommittee Chairpersons and Members

The ESA Scientific Committee (SC) is seeking to recruit new chairpersons and members for its Scientific Subcommittees.

All terms of office will start on 1 January 2019.

Deadline for applications Wednesday, 1 august 2018 (23:59 CET)

Applications for different subcommittees are not allowed.

Subcommittee Chairperson Vacancies

Subcommittee 2: Ambulatory Anaesthesia – 1 vacancy  

Subcommittee 12: Transfusion, Haemostasis and Thrombosis – 1 vacancy  

Subcommittee 13: Pharmacology – 1 vacancy  

Subcommittee 15: Geriatric Anaesthesiology – 1 vacancy  

Subcommittee Member Vacancies

Subcommittee 6: Neuroanaesthesiology – 2 vacancies

Subcommittee 11: Respiration and Airway Management – 1 vacancy  

Requirements for Application


For ESA Scientific Subcommittee Chairperson positions, applicants must have been ESA active members for at least two years prior to the year of application.

Example: if you wish to apply for a Chair position in 2018 (with term of office starting in January 2019), you must have been an ESA active member since 2016.


For ESA Scientific Subcommittee Member positions, applicants must be ESA Active members at the time of application.

Term of office


The term of office is 3 years, plus 1.5 years as Past Chair, subject to availability and commitment to the chairpersons’ tasks. A member of one subcommittee can become its chair no later than at the end of their 3rd year.

Members of the subcommittee can apply for the chair position as far as the cumulated terms of office (member + chair) does not exceed 7,5 years.


The term of office is 3 years, renewable twice for one year (maximum 5 years).


Travel expenses to attend meetings (usually held twice a year) are refunded according to the standard ESA reimbursement policy.

How to apply

Candidates must send their application form along with a CV (maximum 2 sides of A4) by e-mail to no later than 16 July 2018 (23:59 CET).

Download the application form for chairperson here.
Download the application form for member here.

More information

Further details regarding the role, term of office and application conditions are available here.

For any further information please contact Emilie Nootens at