Chairperson of the Patient Safety and Quality Committee (PSQC)

The three-year tenureship of the Chairperson of the Patient Safety and Quality Committee (PSQC) of the ESA becomes vacant on 1 January 2019. 


The new Chairperson will take over from Dr. Johannes Wacker and will liaise closely with him and the members of the PSQC


The duties of the PSQC chairperson include:

  • To lead and coordinate the activities of the PSQC as well as ESA Patient Safety and Quality Projects in collaboration with the ESA Board of Directors, and with other institutions of the Society;
  • To establish and maintain relationships with National and International Societies of Anaesthesiology and other organisations in order to collaborate regarding the promotion of patient safety and quality;
  • To elaborate suggestions for Patient Safety and Quality topics for the scientific programme of the Euroanaesthesia Congress.

The appointed chairperson will be required to attend meetings of the PSQC and other ESA meetings where the presence of the PSQC chairperson will be necessary.  Travel expenses to attend these meetings are provided according to the standard ESA reimbursement policy. 


The candidate must have the following profile:

  • Being a qualified anaesthesiologist;
  • Must have been an Active ESA member for at least two years;
  • Must be a leader in the area of Patient Safety and Quality projects;
  • Fluency in English;
  • Must have the necessary time resources.

If you wish to apply, please send by e-mail to

  • Chairperson application form
  • Curriculum Vitae, which should detail how you meet the criteria 
  • Short outline (maxium one page A4) of your goals and perspectives as chair of the PSQC,
  • List of publications.

Applications must be received no later than 16 July 2018.  Appointment will be made by the ESA Board following recommendation by the Nominations Committee.  It is possible that interviews will be held at the ESA Secretariat to select the successful candidate.

If you would like to discuss any aspect of this post, please contact: 

Mirka Čikkelová

Patient Safety Programme Coordinator



Dr. Johannes Wacker

ESA Patient Safety & Quality Committee

Consultant Anaesthesiologist
Hirslanden Clinic, Zurich, Switzerland

For more information about the Patient Safety and Quality Committee please visit the ESA website