Patient Safety

Patient Safety and Quality Masterclass (19 – 21 October 2020, Stavanger, Norway)

The Patient Safety and Quality Masterclass is an advanced scientific workshop dedicated to learning principles and practice of patient safety, clinical risk management and quality of care. 

Target audience

The course is open to ESA members who speak and write English fluently. This course is aimed at anaesthesiologists who may have some experience in patient safety and are clearly motivated in their choice of being patient safety and quality champions in their departments. 

Learn by doing

The programme contains a series of lectures, simulations and interactive workshops during which participants will apply their knowledge through practical exercises. 

Educational targets focus on the following goals:

  1. Provide a theoretical update on different aspects of the current state of the art in the different fields of patient safety and quality in anaesthesiology
  2. Provide the possibility to train skills and learn new techniques with regard to the different required practical skills for the anaesthesiologists in the management of clinical risk, hazards and quality of care.
    (workshops, role playing and full scale high fidelity simulations)
  3. Provide a forum of scientific exchange with peers and possibility to discuss therapeutic options with key opinion leaders.


The faculty are international experts in patient safety, medical simulation and risk management:

-       Daniel Arnal (Alcoron, Spain) – Chair of the ESA Patient Safety and Quality Committee

-       Johannes Wacker (Zürich, Switzerland)

-       Peter Dieckmann (Copenhagen, Denmark)

-       Michael St.Pierre (Erlangen, Germany)

-       Christopher Neuhaus (Heidelberg, Germany) – EPSQ Masterclass Director


The Masterclass will start at 09:30 (Registration opens at 09:00) on 19th October and finish on Wednesday, 21st October 2019 at 14:00


The PSQ Masterclass will take place in Stavanger, Norway, at the HelseCampus Stavanger.


You can access the preliminary programme HERE

CME Accreditation

The organisers will apply for the CME accreditation for the PSQ Masterclass at the European Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (EACCME). The previous editions of the Masterclass were accredited with 18 CME credits.

How to register?

You can register via your myESA account. If you do not have a myESA account, it is easy and quick to create a profile. Be sure you do this before registering.


Hotel information nearby the Masterclass venue will be sent upon registration confirmation.

If you need further details, do not hesitate to contact us at

This masterclass is supported through an unrestricted educational grant from