Education Awards and Grants

Sir Peter Simpson Prize

Dr. Sir Simpson was the first President of the European Society of Anaesthesiology. He was knighted in 2006 for services to the NHS and initiated the first European-wide qualification in anaesthetics. 

Every year, the European Society of Anaesthesiology grants the Sir Peter Simpson Prize to the candidate who obtains the best score at the European Diploma in Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care Part II examination.

What is granted?

In recognition of the outstanding achievement, the European Society of Anaesthesiology grants different advantages to the winner:

  • The Euroanaesthesia congress registration fee will be waived the year following the Part II examination.
  • A contribution towards the travel and accommodation expenses incurred by the attendance at the European Diploma Presentation Ceremony of the Euroanaesthesia congress up to a maximum of 500 Euro (provided that original receipts for travel to and accommodation at the congress venue are received by the ESA Examinations Office).
  • The winner will be awarded during the Euroanaesthesia Congress, at the Awards Ceremony the year following the Part II examination.


Candidates do not need to apply to be eligible for the Sir Peter Simpson Prize, they participate automatically as they sit the EDAIC Part II examination.