European Diploma in Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care

Part I Examination (MCQ)

Next EDAIC Part I Examination on 17 September 2016

On-line individual registrations for the EDAIC Part I 2016 are now open until 8 June 2016 23.59 CET.

The Part I examination is held annually in late September or early October simultaneously in several centres. The examination may be taken in English, German, French, Spanish, Italian, Russian, Polish, Hungarian, Portuguese, Turkish or Romanian. English language is always provided on top of the selected language so that candidates can refer to the original version if they so wish.

The Part I examination comprises two multiple choice question (MCQ) papers, one covering basic science and the other clinical anaesthesia and intensive care medicine. 

Candidates applying for the Part I examination in a country where the Part I examination is mandatory and who are registered in the national medical register of that country are entitled to a reduced Part I application fee. The official national bodies in charge of organising the Part I examination in these countries and the ESA can confirm this fee to eligible candidates.

In 2008, the marking system of the Part I examination and ITA changed, and today negative marking is not used anymore in the Part I / ITA. Candidates are now required to answer all questions in both Paper A and Paper B. They are awarded a mark for each correct answer. There is no penalty for an incorrect answer or any left blank. It is therefore in the interest of candidates to ensure they answer all questions. We invite you to read more about this in this article written by Zeev Goldik, former Chairman of the ESA Examinations Committee. 

More information can be found in the below documents and in the Diploma Guide that you can download from this page. All information about registration for the EDAIC Part I examination, including the cancellation policy, can be found here.

Please click on the following links to have a look at the Examination Fees or the examination Dates/Centres/Application Deadlines.

Detailed Information by Language

Part I Regulations English French Italian Polish Portuguese Romanian
German Spanish Russian Hungarian
Turkish Slovenian
MCQ Instructions English French Italian Polish Portuguese Romanian
German Spanish Russian Hungarian Turkish Slovenian