Scientific Subcommittee Chairpersons and Members

The ESA Scientific Committee (SC) is seeking to recruit a new chairperson its Scientific Subcommittee 8: Acute and Chronic Pain Management and Palliative Medicine.

Term of office will start on 1 January 2020.

Deadline for applications is until 31 August 2019. 


The ESA Scientific Committee fulfils the following functions:

  • The Scientific Subcommittees provide a European platform for contact and exchange of ideas and scientific initiatives within their specific field of interest. They need to provide a forum for exchange of ideas and initiatives at the different ESA annual meetings.
  • Determines the scientific programme of ESA Scientific Meetings. The Scientific Programme Committee will put together the programme based on the suggestions made by SSC members, along with other ESA entities (Research Committee, EJA, ESA Academy, etc.) and external entities (ESA members, specialist societies, etc.) This programme will be presented and discussed in a meeting with the SSC Chairs in order to come to a final proposal. The Programme Committee consists of the Scientific Committee Chair and Past or Deputy Chair, the Research Committee Chair and the Education and Training Committee Chair.
  • Determines the scientific programme for invited ESA panels to scientific meetings of other societies.
  • Monitors the process of the scientific programme at the scientific meetings.
  • Assesses abstracts submitted for presentation at Euroanaesthesia
  • Proposes, co-ordinates and administers the Euroanaesthesia Best Abstract Prize.
  • Carries out other functions as decided by the Board.

Requirements for Application

Applicants must have been ESA active members for at least two years prior to the year of application.

Example: if you wish to apply for a Chair position in 2019 (with term of office starting in January 2020), you must have been an ESA active member since 2017.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Applicants interested in getting involved in a Scientific (Sub)Committee should make sure they can dedicate sufficient time to this commitment.

Term of office

The term of office is 3 years, plus 1.5 years as Past Chair, subject to availability and commitment to the chairpersons’ tasks. A member of one subcommittee can become its chair no later than at the end of their 3rd year.

Members of the subcommittee can apply for the chair position as far as the cumulated terms of office (member + chair) does not exceed 7,5 years.


Travel expenses to attend meetings (usually held twice a year) are refunded according to the standard ESA reimbursement policy.

How to apply

Candidates must send their application form along with a CV (maximum 2 sides of A4) by e-mail to - no later than 15 August 2019 (23:59 CET).

Download the application form for chairperson here.

More information

Further details regarding the role, term of office and application conditions are available here.

For any further information please contact Sarah Herbineaux at