Examinations Committee

The Examinations Committee is responsible for supervising/coordinating/advising on the organisation of the European Diploma in Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care, and maintaining/improving the standard of the examination. 

The Chairperson is appointed by, and reports to, the ESA Board of Directors. The committee members include the Director of Part 1 MCQ Bank, the Director of Part 2 Guided Question Bank, a representative of the UEMS/EBA and the Examinations Coordinators. The appointed members and Chairperson serve for a term of three years with the possibility of successive one-year appointments up to a maximum of eight years.

Contact the Examinations Committee



Sue Hill


Nicolas Brogly OLA Subcommittee Member in charge of the OLA MCQ Bank Anaesthesia and Intensive Care (Section B)
Wolfram Engelhardt Subcommittee Part I Chairperson
Else-Marie Ringvold Subcommittee Part II Member supervising the yearly distribution of Part II questions 

Götz Geldner

Representative of the UEMS/EBA
Armen Varosyan OLA Subcommittee Chairperson
Andrey Varvinskiy
Part I Subcommittee Member in charge of the Part I MCQ Bank Anaesthesia and Intensive Care (Paper B)
Mario Zerafa  Subcommittee Part II Chairperson
Odile Jacquet* 
ESA Examinations Coordinator
Rodolphe Di Loreto* 
ESA Examinations Coordinator
Mary Fay* 
ESA Examinations Coordinator
Hugues Scipioni* ESA Examinations Team Leader

*No voting rights

Examinations Committee Policy