ESA Membership

ESA Membership Application/Renewal

Apply for ESA membership or renew your existing membership!

ESA Membership entitles you to enjoy benefits in the field of Education, Leadership, ESA Events and much more. Have a look here at all the benefits of a Full ESA Membership. 

The following conditions apply: 

  • ESA Membership runs from the date of payment until the end of the calendar year. Please note: 

    to be entitled to vote at the 2020 General Assembly, the membership fee must be paid by 31 January 2020. To benefit from reduced membership registration fees for Euroanaesthesia 2020, the membership fee must be paid by 17 March 2020. 

  • ESA Membership fees are non-refundable

Full Membership

There are various categories of ESA Membership to which different rates apply, please make sure to check which category you fall under before submitting your membership application.

Also note that on-line membership payment can only be made by debit card, credit cards (American Express, MasterCard & Visa), & PayPal.

Membership fees are non-refundable.

Membership Categories

1. Active Member

  • A physician who has completed an accredited anaesthesia training programme, who is certified in anaesthesiology, who is licensed to practice medicine, and who resides in a European country (as defined by the World Health Organisation).
  • The reduced fee for Active Member is only applicable for a physician who has completed an accredited anaesthesia training programme, who is certified in Anaesthesiology, who is licensed to practise medicine, and who resides in a reduced fee country.

2. Affiliate Member

  • A certified physician not working in the clinical practice of anaesthesiology.
  • A scientist who, while not engaged in administering clinical anaesthesia, is nevertheless interested in anaesthesiology.
  • A certified anaesthesiologist, or a certified physician, or a scientist, who resides outside a European country (as defined by the World Health Organisation).

3. Trainee Member

  • A physician in training, employed in an anaesthesiology department and whose training programme is accredited by a national governmental body or by the National Board of Anaesthesiology. Trainee membership is limited to a maximum of six years.
  • Applicants for trainee membership must attach a letter endorsed by the Director of the training programme stating the programme termination date, otherwise the rate for affiliate member will be applied - download the Trainee Letter Template with the download button at the bottom of this page.

4. Medical Student Member

  • Any Medical Student not yet registered as a physician with the licensing authorities in the country they are in training.
  •  Applicants for student membership must upload a copy of their current student card.

5. Non Physician Registered Health Professional (NPRHP)

  • Any registered non-physician healthprofessional accredited by a European national government body working in anaesthesiology-related areas. This can include nurses, bio technicians, therapists, laboratory technicians and audiologists.
  • Applicants for NPRHP must upload a document confirming their professional activity.

6. Retired Member

  • An individual who would have qualified as an Active and/or Affiliate Member, but who has retired from employment or self-employment for reasons of age, ill health or disability.

7. Honorary Member

  • A physician, scientist, or professional who has attained outstanding eminence in anaesthesiology or related fields, and who has served with distinction this Society or organisations which joined the society.

ESA Trainee Letter Template